gossip lanka

198 of 225 fmr. MPs have received nominations

Before the election was announced, a public outcry deploring the 225 members of the previous parliament was quite common on social media.

However, a data compilation by manthri.lk has revealed that out of the 225 members of the previous parliament, 198 have already received nominations for the upcoming election.

In addition, 10 others have been nominated as national list MPs.

According to manthri.lk, the highest number of previous MPs from the old parliament had received nominations under the Sri Lanka Podujana Peramuna. 85 former MPs have received nominations in this manner.

The SLPP is followed by the Samagi Jana Balawegaya, which is fielding 73 former MPs at the upcoming election.

Meanwhile, the United National Party and the JVP led Jathika Jana Balawegaya' (National People's Power) is fielding only 16 and 05 former parliamentarians respectively.