gossip lanka

Lanka Premier League to start next month

Sri Lanka Cricket Executive Committee yesterday (27) announced that approval has been granted to conduct the inaugural Lanka Premier League T20 Tournament from Aug. 28 - Sep. 20 this year.

The decision was taken at a meeting yesterday.

The 23 match League will be played on the 4 international venues of R Premadasa International Cricket Stadium, Rangiri Dambulu International Cricket Stadium, Pallekele International Cricket Stadium and Suriyawewa Mahinda Rajapakse International Cricket Stadium. 5 Teams named after the cities of Colombo, Kandy, Galle, Dambulla and Jaffna will participate in the League.

 Over 70 International players and 10 top notch coaches have already confirmed their availability to take part in this Tournament along with leading Sri Lankan national players.

 The bidding for the Event’s Title Holder is due to close on July 30th and the schedule of the matches are to be published afterwards.